Gabriel Orozco

GABRIEL OROZCO, 'Cats and Watermelons', 1992

GABRIEL OROZCO, 'Cats and Watermelons', 1992

I found this very short clip of the Artist Gabriel Orozco talking about the role that photography plays in his practice. I am particularly interested in the way he talks about the photographic image and sculpture. This is, in some small way, similar to how I see the work I have made for the Tower of London residency: images of objects that when framed and photographed become sculptural.

I also share his feelings about not always carrying a camera. In many ways, always carrying a camera, always looking at your surroundings through a lens, viewfinder or LCD screen stops you seeing a place. Recently I have started visiting places I find visually interesting with a notebook and writing a description of it rather than going straight for the camera, in this way I notice different things and have a different experience of the place which then informs the work I make of that place.

Leave a Reply

