Unseen Weston

I seem to spend a large ammount of time on trains and buses so I decided to buy a new iPod to help make the whole travelling thing a bit more enjoyable. I have started to subscribe to several podcasts to listen to on the various train journeys of my week, one of these is the podcast of Sotheby’s Fine Art. I downloaded one about the auction of photographs from the collection of Margeret Weston, one image really caught my eye (that I had not seen before). It was Edward Westons ‘The Ascent of Attic Angles’, a beautiful image and reasonably priced somewhere between $700,000 to $1 million. Only two prints exist and it marks the move of weston from his more traditional work into the realm of modernism.

ascentweston

Leave a Reply

