Back to Salt

Yesterday I made a return visit to the Upper Salt Tower to try and re-photograph an earlier image I had made. The image below was one of the first pictures I made early in the residency that caught my attention and became a kind of anchor point for my continued explorations. Some images begin to hold your ideas in place; when you work with a camera in one location over an extended period of time you become drawn to certain objects that act as pintpoint references to your thoughts and ideas. The picture (below) held my interest but I soon realised that it was flawed, at first I thought it may be a problem with the original scan of the negative, but when I checked the frame on the neg I noticed the marks were faults on the film.

hrp-52560-007-s2-00051

If you look at the area I have cropped (below) you can see that the shadows of the table leg extend through the floor. I’ve not seen this before and Im sure there is a logical answer for it, but when I mentioned this to some of the people at the Tower I was told about strange , ghostly markings that have appeared in peoples photographs taken in the (apparently haunted) Salt Tower.

crop1

But whatever had caused them, these marks meant that I had to return and try and reprise this particular picture. Over the years I have heard many different thoughts from various photographers about going back to try and re-capture an image for whatever reason, many think it doesnt work, and in many cases it may be impossible (the fleeting moment has passed) but my pictures very rarely rely on a ‘decisive moment’, they are more about inaction than action so we will see if my return was a success when I get the contact sheets back.

On my return to the room in the upper salt everything was as I had left it several months ago,  I even found a small paper band from one of my rolls of film (im usually very careful not to drop these things) which made me think about the continuing addition of everyday history to the Tower of London, small, almost unnoticed moments that leave the slightest mark.

Leave a Reply

